Return to Home Page

Training Course Broker Ltd. is an independent resource whose aim is to assist students in finding good quality training. We do NOT deliver any training and are NOT associated with any accrediting body. Courses are delivered by accredited training providers.

Course Dates for the NEBOSH - National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety qualification.

NEBOSH - National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety Training Course Dates

Yes, this course is Accredited and Certified by

"The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health (NEBOSH)".

This means that all training providers advertising their courses on this site must be an approved centre.
In most cases the awarding body (NEBOSH) will audit the centre to ensure the correct standard of teaching.

Category: Health-and-Safety

Level: Advanced

The NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety is the flagship NEBOSH award and is the first UK vocational qualification to be developed specifically for health and safety professionals. Since its introduction in 1988 it has become established as the most popular qualification of its kind, with over 10,000 students having successfully gained the Diploma.

How much does it cost and how long does it take?

Course fees are determined by individual course providers and vary depending on the format of the course. You should plan your study around a minimum of 241 taught hours and approximately 234 hours of private study and background reading.

What are the benefits for employers?

Management of health and safety in the workplace is not only a legal obligation and a moral imperative, it also makes good business sense. Qualified health and safety professionals are an asset to their organisations, reducing costs by preventing accidents and ill health of employees, without incurring unnecessary expense by over-reacting to trivial risks.

Courses leading to the NEBOSH National Diploma can be taken in a variety of formats and at a pace to fit around the needs of the business. The unitised structure of the qualification recognises success as the student progresses. Its practical approach promotes the application of the knowledge acquired on the course to problem solving in the students own workplace.

The NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational health and Safety has been accredited and credit rated by the Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA).

It sits in the Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) at SCQF Level 10 with 48 SCQF credit points.

Download Fact Sheet

The NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety is the qualification for aspiring health and safety professionals, building directly upon the foundation of knowledge provided by the NEBOSH National General Certificate. It is designed to provide students with the expertise required to undertake a career as a safety and health practitioner and also provides a sound basis for progression to postgraduate study.

The NEBOSH National Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety provides the core health and safety knowledge (transferable across industry, commerce and the public sector) which, combined with understanding and appropriate application, underpins the competent performance of an Occupational Health and Safety Practitioner.

There no formal entry requirements for this qualification, however candidates should consider that this is professional level qualification, approximately equivalent to a degree-level qualification. Achievement of the NGC or direct equivalent prior to undertaking the Diploma course is highly recommended.

The qualification is divided into four units, each of which is assessed separately:

Unit A: Managing health and safety
Unit B: Hazardous agents in the workplace
Unit C: Workplace and work equipment safety
Unit DNI: Application of health and safety management in the workplace

Students may choose to take individual units in any order over a five year period and will be awarded a unit certificate for each unit passed.

Units A, B and C are each assessed by one three-hour written examination consisting of 2 parts

The questions in Part A are all compulsory.

For Part B students must answer 3 out of the 5 questions featured on the paper.

Candidate scripts are marked by external examiners appointed by NEBOSH.

Unit D (If studying February 2010 specification) or Unit DNI (If studying November 2015 specification) is the final element of the assessment which gives students the opportunity to apply their knowledge in a workplace situation.

This qualification is available in:

Click tabs below for delivery method and course dates and locations.